Pi for Lunch: 3-Cheese and Salsa Quiche

It’s Spring break, which means the kids are out of school. It’s cold, which means the kids are in the house. And now they’ve got friends over.

Send help. And wine.

On the plus side–my work is pretty flexible, most days. Which means when I woke up this morning to big fluffy snowflakes, I decided it was a good day to work at home. (Hence, the friends coming over. I get much more done when we have in-house entertainment).

Work at home days come with some great perks. Like for instance, it is now 1pm and I’m wearing leggings and no bra. I am much more productive in my life when I don’t have to wear a bra.

Furthermore, working from home means I can make actual lunch, and not just graze on junk or skip lunch altogether. And I can feed the kids at a leisurely pace (as opposed to frantically packing peanut butter sandwiches at 7am while I’m also trying to get my coffee going so I can open my eyes).

Since today is “Pi” day; and since I am ALWAYS up for pie; and since I had a pie crust taking up valuable real estate in my freezer–I threw together a cheese and salsa quiche. #Myweirdvegetariankid AND my eats-all-the-meat kid were a big fan. You really can’t go wrong with salsa around here.

And you can never go wrong with pie for lunch. You’ll need:

5 eggs

1/4 c. milk

1/3 c. salsa*

2 or 3 tbsp of whipped cream cheese

1 cup shredded colby-jack cheese (or, sharp cheddar works too) 

1 frozen pie crust

Combine all ingredients in a mixing bowl; whisk or beat with a fork until the eggs are well beaten. Pour egg mixture into the pie crust and bake at 350 for about 40 minutes. Then cover edges of crust with foil to prevent burning, crank the heat up to 375, and cook for an additional 10 or 15 minutes, until the center is firm.

This literally takes only about 5 minutes to whip up. Re: the salsa, do not mess around with store brands. Go straight for the real deal with Herdez–available at any grocery store, providing that you live in actual civilization. If not–generic will do, but next time you venture out of the sticks, stock up on the real thing.

IMG_20170314_132850

Happy pi day everyone! If you’re’ cooking something fabulous for dessert tonight, send something my way. Because I used my last pie crust on lunch.

Worth it.

IMG_20170314_120134

IMG_20170314_120128

 

Leave a comment